I Didn't Get To Choose My Friends - Pokemon Platinum Random Team Run

Hello! I am SpammyV, and I’d like to welcome you to this Pokemon Platinum Random Team Run/Let’s Play of mine.

"What the heck’s a “Random Team Run?”

The short answer is: I RNG a team of six Pokemon at the start and can only battle with those for the entire game.

The long answer is: When I replay Pokemon games I am not good at breaking my own habits and not just using again many of the same Pokemon I used last time. For example I’ve played through Diamond and Platinum a few times, and I keep ending up with a Shinx and a Ponyta for most of the game. Maybe I’d even notice before getting to the end! There are a lot of Pokemon out there, which means there are a lot I haven’t used. And since I’ve never personally been about catching 'em all… Why not take it out of my hands?

There’s an obvious question of “Why not just do a Nuzlocke instead of trying to be a special and unique Beautifly?” to which the answer is: “I feel too bad having to pretend my Pokemon died and couldn’t go back to a Nuzlocke after my team wiped.” But also even with the Nuzlocke restrictions, I was playing on my physical Platinum cart and it wasn’t hard to have most of the Pokemon I’d used my first time through. It didn’t really do what I wanted, where the Random Team Run concept did. And I’m not in the market for a full CHAOS REIGNS randomizer experience either.

It certainly worked! This is not my first time doing one of these.

I beat Emerald with Team Don’t Call Me Lance:

And then beat FireRed with Team Invasive Species: