Lets Give Kids Missiles, Lasers, Bullets, and More Stuffed Into Toy Robots - Let's Play Medabots: Metabee (GBA)

Lets Play Medabots: Metabee Version!

Q: Who exactly are you?

A: Niddo. Also go by Nidtendofreak or The Niddo depending what site you look at and how old the account is. I’m new to making LPs but not new to enjoying them. After over 5 years of reading and watching LPs I figured I should give making one a shot! Any and all feedback is welcome as long as its actionable, I don’t doubt I got a bunch to learn through this little adventure.

Q: Alright, fair enough. What exactly are you playing here, it looks vaguely familiar from my childhood/I think I’ve seen a screenshot or two of this before/wasn’t this on the Wii U VC?

A: What you’re looking at here, is one of the few (and the best frankly) of the Medabots series released outside of Japan (known as Medarot within Japan). Developed by Natsume of Harvest Moon fame, the series started back in 1997 and had a fair amount of success. Medarot 1-5 were all created, followed by the spinoff game Medarot G. Then in late 2002 a GBA remake of Medarot 2 was released with two versions: Metabee and Rokusho. The remake went worldwide, with Medabots: Metabee and Medabots: Rokusho releasing outside of Japan. Along with the two versions of the remake release Metabots AX: Metabee/Metabots AX: Rokusho (a… brawler/platform fighter? on the GBA) and Metabots: Infinity (A 3D arena shooter for the Gamecube). Around the same time the anime aired outside of Japan and the toy line was released.

It was a massive hit… for a year or two. And then Medabots faded away outside of Japan. While the series is still ongoing with releases on the DS and 3DS (and even showing up in a Super Robot Wars mobile game), it failed to have a long lasting impact on the rest of the world and Natsume isn’t particularly interested in rolling the dice again.

Q: Mildly interesting. Why are you LPing this game then?