Roll to Save Against Hama, Let's Beta Test Persona: The Tabletop RPG

So I’m a game designer or something along those lines.

Well, I say that, but uh, this currently is the only game I’m designing. As I explain in the first video, there’s surprisingly very few fan-made Persona RPGs. And the ones I have found are either A. Not complete or ready for testing, or B. Just weirdly complex. After playing Persona 5 this year I wanted to do something with Persona in a tabletop RPG format, and seeing that all my choices aren’t something I’d really enjoy, I opted to say “fuck it” and went about to create my own.

So how does it work?

My design philosophy going into this was to make it akin to “A Powered by the Apocalypse game by day, and a dungeon crawling RPG by night”. I took inspiration heavily from games like Monsterhearts and MASKS for the social (and of course Social Link) aspect of the game, while also looking at combat heavy games like Last Stand and Double Cross for the dungeon crawl aspect of it. I wanted things to be simple, and combat to be fast paced. Considering how there will chaff encounters in the dungeons, I didn’t want combat taking hours to finish.

The rolling is simple; 2d10 for everything. Any roll the player does is 2d10 + whatever stat modifier they have. The stats are divided into two “sections”, as I like to call it. Your Social stats (Knowledge, Guts, Proficiency, Kindness, and Charm) and your Combat Stats (Strength, Magic, Endurance, and Agility).

Things get a bit more in-depth on the combat side when we factor in creating Skills and Spells, choosing your Arcana, etc. But you can read up on that in the PDF which I will link below.

The Campaign Itself: