How to get your name out there?

So, I’ve been doing LP’s for a couple of years now, with a few projects under my belt. And I posted a few days ago my first post on the LP side, with links to my current LP of FFVII. I was hoping to ask, what are some good tips on getting my name out there, and making people know about my videos, and wanting to watch them? Has anyone else felt the same with their videos?

2 Likes

This is gonna sound funny, but thumbnails are SUPER important, even for lps. When somebody randomly gets your video in their suggestions, a screenshot of gameplay with nothing else attached to a not super well known name will probably be glossed over.

This is also something I’ve been working on, but don’t be afraid to self promote. Don’t stick your videos into peoples faces, obviously, but if the topic turns to hobbies don’t be embarrassed to bring up your videos and show them to people. Most of the pewdiepies and IHateEverythings out there started out making videos that only them and their parents watched.

Thumbnails that look interesting enough, content that people are interested in looking at the time, shorter videos, a good venue to promote yourself, a lot of time, a lot of luck.

What I’m basing this off at least:

1. Videos I have with cool thumbnails that I don’t promote get more exposure than just a random YT-generated screenshot
  2. My most viewed video was a stream recording of an Overwatch match where I played Attack Symmetra. 0 effort, exported from Twitch, didn’t even realize it was popular until I checked it randomly one day Also, my Furi LP was my most popular thread on the SA forums because it was the new hotness at the time. By comparison, other LPs I felt I put more work into had less views because they were old or obscure games.