So you want to read those untranslated games, learning Japanese with Duolingo.

Hey there folks.

Thanks to a happenstance twitter conversation, I have learned of Duolingo, a language teaching program for (I assume) primary English speakers who want to learn a different language. Despite the website, there is in fact support for Japanese. The program presents simple little problems with various little aides to help you build familiarity with the language. It’s apparently been around on iPhone for a while, but it recently became compatible with Android. As someone who uses the Android emulator Nox, I can verify it works on that as well. It is also free with the occasional ad at the end of an instruction. Throwing money to the devs directly scores you no ads.

Japanese is something I actually took a course on over ten years ago but it didn’t really work out because I’m a bad student. Duolingo seems like a good way to get started again and it actually has a ‘groups’ function so that like-minded individuals can learn the language together. It tracks stats and whatnot and encourages learning with others which generally makes learning easier.

And here we get to the point of this thread, I am interested in starting a Japanese learning group with the fine folks here at LPZ via Duolingo. Since it is free and is available on basically all common mobile platforms if you have an interest in learning the good ol’ Nihongo, then please show your interest so that we can help one another embetter ourselves.

Edit: Well, by virtue of two votes, we have a name. Join code is: 92KE6G

If your handle there is different than here, please say so here so I know who is who.

2 Likes

Definitely interested. Similar to you I tried taking Japanese as an extracurricular in high school but it didn’t take. More than willing to give it another shot!

I’m up for it I just took two semesters of Japanese this past school year