Screenshots, Video, Text?: How To Choose Between LP formats

I’m fairly new to LP creation, having only completed one (presently working on a third, lost my second to a hard disk failure while it was still in its infancy). I’ve gone through lparchive.org quite thoroughly over the years, though, and seen a good mix of LP styles: subtitled vs audio commentary, text only, screenshot only, mixed screenshot and video, etc. And as I’ve accidentally gained more responsibilities with age, I think about how time-consuming all the video publishing was for my first LP… It makes me think I’d really like to try other, less intensive formats.

So, do any of you have recommendations for what sort of games lend themselves best to each format? Do you pick a format first and then think of what game you’d be able to do in that style, or is it usually the other way round? And are there challenging aspects of those lesser-used formats which a new LP creator may not realize until they’re in the thick of it?

Any insight would be great!

I feel it really depends on what you want to do with your LP.

Text-Based adventures work great when there is large dialogue trees with little to no V/O.

It also helps in series where the audience controls the story. Where the OP plays a Dungeon Master.

Screenshots are similar to this, it gives visuals to aid the user in this RP. Steering the character in the right direction. Use them in creative based games.

And video is great for games that need to be visually shown, platforming, mega story epics with cutscenes like The Last Guardian. It also helps to have good audio in the process. It’s also the default for most LPs.

I feel that there is no right or wrong way to interpret it. But you should go with your conscience and what you feel works for your game.

I wish you the best!

1 Like