Let's Raise a Couple of Digital Buddies! Let's Play Digimon 20th Ver.

In 2017, Bandai released an updated version of their original Digimon virtual pet toy. In July of this year, the toy was released in English in the U.S., the U.K., and Australia. It’s either a GameStop or EBGames exclusive, depending on the country.

I’ve always been fascinated by virtual pets, but I was slightly too young to remember their heyday. Since I have no experience raising a virtual pet, I thought we could raise one together!

To my knowledge, there’s no way to hook these things up to a capture card. As a result, I’ll just be taking pictures of my pet. There’s literally no other way to record it, so sorry.

And here’s our title screen! I’ll take this time to note: the backgrounds for my images are going to be inconsistent. I’m still in school, so my ability to control my surroundings is limited.

We only get four characters, so I’ll use the name of my first Tabletop Character.

And here’s our first egg, or “digitama,” depending on which translation you’re going with.

They’ll take a minute to hatch, so let’s go through those icons.

First up is Stats. This displays our digimon’s name, their age and weight, their hunger, strength, and effort, along with battle information which I’ll go into once we start fighting.

Here’s Food. This lets us feed our Digimon Meat and Vitamins. Meat refills their Hunger, Vitamins refills their Strength. Both increase our Digimon’s weight. If you want to lower it’s weight . . .

. . . you can go to Training. Training gets you a little minigame; again, I’ll explain more once we start training.

Next up we have the Coliseum whi- Oh!

Turns out, I can’t take nine pictures in a minute. I’ll introduce this guy in a bit, but I’ll just explain the remaining icons.

The fifth icon on top is Clean; your digimon will poop, and that button gets rid of that poop. If you get four turds on screen, your digimon will get sick.