Let's Play Unity Development!

So, I’m a programmer! Hello!
I’m making a series where I put that programming to work and hopefully end up with something that’s technically a game!

My specialty has always been making something that works very quickly, even if it’s not pretty. Usually it is not pretty. I’m self taught and a loose cannon, but damn if I get the job done. My goal is to show the process of making something that works, start to finish- including making art, which is of course going to be just horrific.

I thought that’d lend itself well to a video series, so I tried that out! I’m too shy to talk at the moment, but I’d consider commentary if anyone actually wanted that. I just got a twitch stream with royalty free music and had that going, and it was chill as hell.

I’m gonna take some time to refine the process, make it neater, get that twitch window into an overlay instead of literally just stealing my workspace, maybe think about how commentary would fit in- but is this at all interesting to y’all? Let me know what you think! I’d love to take suggestions, whether for what kind of game I make next, or just generally improve my setup.

In episode 1, I set out to make an asteroids clone- but quickly lost my way, and instead, a hasty space invaders clone.

Featuring such features as:

Shooting;
Health system;
Main Menu;
Game over and Victory conditions;

3 Likes

I’m gonna follow this pretty closely, I think o.o. I’m curious about Unity, but I’m intimidated by its 3D game engine features. I work with C# pretty much constantly for my job, but it’s all .NET forms stuff. I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to carry over, haha.

1 Like

In episode 2, I took a solid attempt at a side-scrolling shooter- but got sleepy an hour in and had to call it a day early. Whoops.

Nicer looking health bars;
Gravity;
Shooting;