History and Mythology! Not just for nerds anymore!

Hi! My name is Arp1033, and you know what I like? History NOWAITCOMEBACK!

History is a fascinating topic for everyone, and there are a bunch of super bizarre, crazy things that have happened since the dawn of recorded history. Since we have a thread about one author’s writing on interesting people, I think we should have a thread about interesting events too!

To make things more casual, I suggest we post our random knowledge without needing to include sources, but we should be ready to supply ones if requested (And if you need help finding sources I will be happy to assist, there are a ton of good sources out there that can be hard to find without a bit of know-how, and since my degree is in History I have more experience finding sources than I could ever need…) So let’s do this, and help educate each other!

Discussion of books and papers is also a fun idea! Just make sure they are well respected and not based off of bigotry or hatred (aka we can rag on Mien Kampf, which may be the most boring, bland offensive material I have ever read, but lets not talk about how good Hitler’s ideas were [hint: they were all terrible and stupid, I will fight you about this.])

Important side note: don’t be jerks to each other. Don’t insult other groups of people for no reason, or at all actually.

3 Likes

Is discussion of mythology allowed in this thread. It’s a pretty significant aspect of history, considering that many prominent cultures throughout history have had their own specific mythological systems that have become ingrained in history as well as pop culture.

1 Like