Crit Fail Ate my Character: Let’s Talk Tabletop!

Video games are nice but every once in awhile it’s fun to sit down make an absurd character. In doing so you and your friends have a good ol’ romp through whatever game you are playing while meeting fun and interesting NPCs that you may or may not horribly murder all while making the DM panic because one NPC you killed was the plot important one. Whoops!

So gather around you wizards, rogues, and fighters and grab a cup of ale and let’s talk about tabletop games. Just please don’t start a bar fight.

5 Likes

I’ve never really had the chance to play many tabletops, but I’d really love to get into them. Is there anything you’d recommend for a complete beginner? I’d love to say I’m down to just jump into D&D someplace, but, yknow. I don’t wanna be that noob.

2 Likes

I’m putting together a trial campaign using a new ruleset called Catalyst, by cherrypickedgames.com. The setting is post-apocalyptic in theme, caused by an invasion of demons from a hell-like alternate dimension.

Since it’s a test campaign I’m doing a 1v1 as the DM with a friend of mine. He’s playing a recluse who believes hiding in the middle of nowhere will be better for his survival than trying to help maintain what’s left of society. So I’m drawing a lot of inspiration from The Long Dark, The Road, The Last of Us, etc. Skulking around encampments trying to steal supplies because your last attempt at foraging flopped, that kinda thing

Still building up my assets and session notes.

I love tabletop games, and have been playing for about 6 years now. Favorite system is either D&D 5 or Pathfinder, although I have dabbled in a few Star Wars systems and Shadowrun, although those groups tended to implode for various reasons ranging from “the DM moved to another city without telling us,” “the DM took a job in another state for the summer” (I will admit that one was me) or “oh shit, the DM is 2 hours late again, we give up.”

Good times.