Commentary Pointers?

I’m still very new to Let’s Playing, and looking through my videos, I feel like commentary is a major weak link of mine. I’m noticing a ton of lengthy, awkward pauses and talking in circles without saying much of anything. I’ve never been a particularly skilled public speaker, but it’s still kind of discouraging to notice how much I struggle when I’m trying to come up with things to say during a recording.

Honestly, I wonder how so many of you manage to do commentary so naturally. I wish that I could figure out how to bring that same sort of free-flowing dialogue to my videos instead of sounding so stilted and unsure all the time.

I wanted to ask how you all handle doing commentary in your videos, and how you keep from having dead air and lacking charisma in the final product.

Probably the easiest thing to do is to make the final product not the first product. Sometimes, I get so far into a video and realize that my commentary hasn’t been very good, so I stop to think about what I need to improve, scrap the recording, and start again. Most of the time, it takes a failed take to tell me what I should be saying at a given time.

I appreciate the advice, and I admit that I often realize that my commentary hasn’t been great so far mid-recording.

However, that leads into an issue with my current LP, which is a game that auto-saves after each level and only has one save slot, so I can’t really scrap a recording once I’ve finished a level.

Would you suggest practicing speaking for a while before recording to make myself more comfortable with it?

Warming up is often necessary for using your voice a long period of time in any context. Better for both the voice and the mind.
Also for a lot of us, commentating doesn’t come naturally. It’s a skill developed over time. Many of us also do post-commentary, not commentating at the same time as recording the game. Have you tried doing that, so you already know ahead of time what’s going to happen?